Eyes Open

I’ve already explained this to Hannah, but I’ll reiterate it here; German folklore is a dead end. There is no valuable research to be found in that line. If she wants to keep it up as a hobby, I encourage it. Everyone needs a distraction. However, the advice I gave to her and that I will now give to all of you is this; don’t expect to find any answers. There are no answers to this.

Now, back to the ever-cheery topic of my nightmares. He sent me another one last night, which means he’s back to his old tricks instead of tearing my front door to pieces.

In this dream, I was in my old publishing office in Rutland, which had somehow found itself on top of a skyscraper. I was talking to Hannah, who had somehow become my personal assistant, when I noticed that she didn’t look right. Hannah is fairly slim and svelte but this Hannah was round. I suddenly realised that I was in a dream and started shaking the fake Hannah angrily but then the whole world went completely black and I suddenly found myself on the floor (I lost my ability to walk yet again). The whole office was empty but there was a wind blowing through it, a wind that was becoming a storm and I knew that the Tree Walker was coming for me. My first instinct was to escape by jumping out the window but I stopped myself by reminding myself I was in a dream and the Tree Walker just wanted me to jump out my bedroom window in real life. Instead, with great difficulty, I raised my arms to my face and pulled my left eye open. Suddenly I was awake. He’d managed to get me off my bed but nowhere near my window and, for the first time in a long time, I smiled genuinely. I had beaten him. Just this once, I had beaten him.

Victory was mine.

Leave a Reply

