Merry Christmas, Emily

Happy holidays, folks. I hope you’re doing well.

We had a fairly standard Christmas morning here, in spite of the circumstances in which we all find ourselves. Somewhere along the way, Elaine started buying presents for Elliott and Emily, especially the latter, who, I must admit, we all spoiled today. Elaine showered her in stuffed animals and toy vehicles, while I bought her the entire Artemis Fowl series of books and told her she could take any books she wanted from the library (I’m sincerely hoping she doesn’t take a shine to any of the tomes of eldritch lore). I am assuming Emily liked her presents as there was another round of “glomping” on her part.

Of course, no Christmas would be complete without a dinner and I prepared a banquet; turkey, ham, potatoes sweet, mashed and roasted, green beans, carrots, stuffing, cranberry sauce, corn, cinammon apples, pumpkin pie, fruit salad and plate after plate of assorted cakes and pies. Everyone dug in with gusto and enthusiasm, except Elaine again. To each their own, I guess.

Afterwards, I once again retreated to the library for further research, though I was occasionally joined by Emily, who was racing around the house with a toy plane in her hand. It wasn’t a bad Christmas at all, if I do say so myself.

2 comments on “Merry Christmas, Emily

  1. R. Easton says:

    I’m so glad that you all are happy and safe together on this glorious Christmas day. Clearly this will aid you in your little bid to die like your friends. That’s what the greatest gift you could get this year is, isn’t it?

  2. Jean says:

    Merry Christmas, lads and ladies, and may this year be safer than the last. Or less safe, whatever the party requires.

Leave a Reply

