Lessons to Learn

There weren’t many celebrations at the house today. I don’t think any of us really care about living another year when it’s a miracle we manage to live each day. Instead, Elaine and I spent the day teaching Emily. “Teaching” sounds a bit formal but, basically, Emily was reading one of the beginner science books in the library and started getting curious so Elaine and I decided to give her a crash course in biology, chemistry and physics. Elaine did most of the talking, I just interjected occasionally to correct or clarify. If nothing else, Emily will have something good to put on her resumé; not everyone gets taught science by a neurosurgeon.

The little rascal succeeded in scaring the living daylights out of me too. I was in the kitchen washing the dishes after lunch and Emily had gone outside to play. I was keeping an eye on her but I stooped down to pick up a cup I’d dropped and when I looked up, she was running towards the ring of thistle and weeds. I don’t honestly believe that that thing ever kept the Tree Walker out of the estate but I still didn’t fancy what might happen to Emily if she ran into those woods. I ran out to stop her and just managed to catch her before she crossed the ring. Then I scolded her. Then I made her ice-cream.

3 comments on “Lessons to Learn

  1. Ben says:

    I remember when I gave my little sister an impromptu lesson in physics (buoyancy and density) when she was six or seven. She didn’t remember anything I had said a week later.

    • Benjamin Vanderwaal says:

      Well, I don’t particularly mind if it doesn’t stick, we managed to entertain her for a day. She enjoyed herself.

  2. Elaine says:

    Emily’s not exactly that fickle. She’s brilliant, she’ll remember. Not exactly an average six year old.

Leave a Reply

