There They Go

Today, Elaine, Elliott and Emily, the first of my visitors to arrive, became the first of my visitors to leave. After making sure they all filled up on a hearty breakfast (including Elaine), I helped them pack all their things into the car. Emily, of course, decided to hug me and didn’t let go for five minutes while insisting she was going to stay with “the nice man who gave me books and ice-cream”. It was only when we explained that staying would make it easier for the Bad Man to find them that she let go and she questioned us even then. If staying in one place made it easier for the Bad Man to find people, why didn’t I come with them, she asked. It was hard to explain to her why I could take the risk and she couldn’t, but she accepted the reasoning in the end. I decided not to tell her about the sickness. She didn’t need to be upset more.

My goodbyes with Elaine and Elliott were far less emotional. Pip pip cheerio, thanks for the tea, try not to die. We’ve all figured out how this goes by now. I have anyway.

I’m not expecting new visitors for another while, I’m not sure how frequently I’ll be updating until then. There’s only so much I can say about lounging around the mansion and figuring out how to pay bills.

Leave a Reply

