An Unexpected Visitor

I have a new visitor today. I was sitting in the library flipping through a book about art deco architecture when I heard a scratching coming from the front doors. My mind was suddenly filled with mental images of those doors exploding in a storm of splinters, so I brought my gun with me as I went to find out what was making the noise. When I opened the door, there was the most gorgeous Rottweiler I have ever seen in my life. He looked up at me with big puppy eyes, whimpered and started trying to give me the paw. Then, as if my heart wasn’t melted enough, he rolled over on his back, started giving me both paws and let out a long whine. I nearly died of a cuteness-induced heart attack but I managed to keep my heart from exploding long enough to bring the dog in.

I checked his collar and it had a name (Thomas), address and confirmation of vaccination. I got him some food (there obviously wasn’t any dog food, so I just gave him some sausages from the fridge) and brought him up to one of the spare rooms. I wrote up a quick letter and sent it off to the address on his collar, so hopefully I’ll be able to reunite him with his owner.

In the meantime, my home is his to enjoy. Except for the library. There is not a chance on Earth I will let a live animal into the library. Not a hope in hell.

3 comments on “An Unexpected Visitor

  1. Elaine says:

    He sounds sweet. Kind of wish he’d shown up when we were there-Em would’ve loved him.

  2. Alana says:

    *snicker* I’d be careful if I were you. Such dogs tend to be followed by unwelcome strangeness, I hear.

  3. Ben says:

    Nobody was trying to shoot the dog from a helicopter, right?

Leave a Reply

