In the House of the Father

Emily and I are back in Vermont. We arrived on Monday, actually, but I’ve been too busy getting all my various affairs in order to post. In addition to the previously mentioned moneys, both Rachael and Elaine left lump sums to help fund Emily’s care, so I’ve been trying to sort out all these different transfers and exchanges in such a way that I won’t have anyone of authority snooping around my home, wondering who I am, why I haven’t paid taxes and where I got an orphaned child.

The little one herself has been mostly quiet and when she hasn’t been, she’s either been crying or hungry. So now I really need to start figuring out what I should be feeding her and whatnot. I’m pretty sure there’s only so much pasta you can give a child before you start encouraging juvenile obesity. The crying is a natural part of the grieving process but I’m paranoid enough that I’m going to keep a close eye on her and keep someone on speed dial in case I need her looked at.

For now, my main priority is ensuring Emily’s security here in the mansion. It is imperative that I keep her out of harm’s way as much as possible, especially since I’m besieged by the dual threat of the Tree Walker and Arkham. At least one of those is defeatable though, which is a bonus, for once.

I’ll try and return to some sort of regular update schedule soon.

Leave a Reply

